SDLC & DDLC – Development Life Cycle

Planning, building, testing, and deploying an information system are all steps in the development life cycle, whether it be for a database or an application. In this article, we will go through Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) and Database Development Life Cycle (DDLC).

The steps of the SDLC begin with planning and analysis, move through quote and approval, mockup, creation, stage and test, and conclude with product release. The end is always a new beginning, though, because every product needs ongoing work to improve, expand, or fully protect it.

The names of the stages may vary depending on the company or the area, but the core of the activity is the same because every product needs a fundamental concept, careful study, product development, and release to the public or to the client.

The development of databases goes through similar stages. Database design, evaluation and selection, logical and physical database design, implementation, data loading, testing, performance tuning, operate and maintain, growth and change are all steps in the process.

Since data is the lifeblood of an organization, it necessitates careful consideration, perfect design, planning for logical and physical files, careful implementation, loading of the data into database tables, improvement of performance by resolving slowness-related issues, proper database administration to take care of database backups, comprehension of daily data growth, and capacity planning to prevent disk space problems in the near future.

The image below depicts the SDLC and DDLC phases. Each phase’s output is also described.
The majority of the planning and analysis will be done right at the start. There should be a thorough project plan in place that has the stakeholders’ and clients’ approval. Along with the backend database that stores the data arriving through the application, this will provide clarity on the application that will be created, its purpose, etc. The system requirement, including hardware needs, low-level design, and system architecture, should be specified in the next step.

The full form of the terms used in the image are given below:

RDD : Requirement Design Document
SAD : System Analysis Document
HLD : High Level Design
LLD : Low Level Design
STP : System Test Plan
STD : Software Test Description
STR : Software Test Report
DDD : Database Design Document
UTS : Unit Test Specification
UTP : Unit Test Plan

It is not necessary to have all the documents or have such a discussion, as was said at the outset. It always depends on the application that will be created, as well as the company.

A short description is provided for both SDLC and DDLC below:

* Project Analysis
* Scope, Limitations, Restrictions, Trend, Budget Planning

* Project Analysis
* Scope, Limitations, Restrictions, Growth, Maintenance, Analysis

Hope you find this article helpful.

Please subscribe for more interesting updates.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s